sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 08:13pm on 05/10/2011
So I realised yesterday that it must be over a year since I got my coil. I think it was last September. The fact I can't remember probably says a lot about how forgettable it is once it's in :)

Some women I was talking to on twitter have exactly the same qualms I had about it (plus a new exciting description of how it works as "barbed wire for my uterus")... so I thought I'd write briefly about it.

My coil is non-hormonal.
This is majorly important to me, because I've tried various different hormonal contraceptives - all pills, granted, but with my experiences I didn't fancy trying anything else - which all made me highly emotional (either fluffy and unable to express why I was upset with things, or full of uncontrollable mood swings, or very angry, irrational and paranoid). One also incorporated some nasty physical effects such as swelling and soreness in the very areas I'd been hoping to enable some happy times... soooo, got off that one pretty quickly.

My coil is comfortable.
It hurt to put in. Squick thoughts = they have to get it through your cervix into your uterus. It hurts exactly as much as you'd imagine that to. A nice nurse held my hand and smiled sympathetically at me. What didn't help was the doctor checking VERY last-minute if I was sure I didn't want the hormonal coil, the Mirena - not a good time to make that decision thankyou! Anyway, It did hurt, but it died down pretty quickly. I spent about two weeks feeling kind of bloaty and uncomfortable, getting gradually better, and that happened to be at a point when I wasn't sexually active - you can't have sex for seven days I think, but I'm not sure how my body would've reacted anyway - and after that it's been pretty much perfect all along.

My coil doesn't make my periods heavier.
Theoretically the copper coil can make your periods longer and heavier. Mine do appear to be a touch longer and closer together than they were, but they're actually less painful. I'm of the type who get pressure-induced back pain, apparently due to the swelling of the blood vessels (and probably having a womb that flops backward, ain't I special). This has been infinitely better since the coil, whether because the hormones I'd previously taken had fucked me up and are gradually wearing off (which might also explain the cycle changing), or because of the bit of metal keeping me safe from unwanted babyness, who can say? It makes me happy that I no longer spend a day somewhere between inconvenienced and incapacitated - it's still an inconvenience in that, hey, I'm bleeding, and I occasionally get cramps now, but it's really definitely not worse.

My coil has been checked a couple of times.
I check monthly, just after my period, that I can still feel the strings of my coil. They poke out through the neck of my cervix, and personally I have to bear down a little to reach this. I've only had to have someone else check my coil twice - once as a follow-up which is usually 4 to 6 weeks after insertion, and once about six months later when I couldn't find the strings and panicked. What I didn't know is that although the strings are nylon and stay rigid for some time, eventually they soften inside you and can curl around your cervix - making mine quite hard to find sometimes.

My coil does not protect me from STDs, but I've been fortunate in that regard. My coil does protect me from unwanted pregnancy - it's not perfect, but neither is any other method I know of. I'm really happy with this one, and will continue to be for the next four years or so (I'm so not thinking about the part where they replace it).

There are 11 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
lightcastle: Lorelei Castle (Default)
posted by [personal profile] lightcastle at 11:21pm on 05/10/2011
The coil has a really bad rep in North America, which seems to be the legacy of a bad version years ago that just got too much PR.
sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 12:12am on 06/10/2011
Actually that does not massively surprise me. People over here either don't know anything about it or have heard all the horror stories - also I personally know two people who were conceived past a coil, one of whom has a weird gap in her arm where apparently she grew around it (not that weird, you have to press it to know it's there, and it's close to where I have a small random gap too). But y'know, no contraception is perfect, and this has been damn good for me. I think if you're happy to consider someone sticking a needle in you every three months (is it?), or to have something stuck in your arm (ew. ew. ew. ew. EW. ew. ew.) or to commit to taking a pill every.single.day and spending months, no, make that years finding out which one's actually right for you... you could think about taking a short amount of pain in return for an easier life.
lightcastle: Lorelei Castle (Default)
posted by [personal profile] lightcastle at 12:35am on 06/10/2011
I think I had one partner who was on a coil, but I'm not even sure of that. (Being something of a stickler about condom use, I've never felt much need to pry into details.)
sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 12:14pm on 06/10/2011
I think I used to be mildly allergic to some of the lube used in certain condoms. It's been a long time since I used them regularly, having only slept with previous partners/people I trust implicitly (and getting regular STD checks). Point being, it's not just blokes who dislike condoms. I particularly couldn't stand the ribbed or dotted ones. Seem to be more tolerant as I get older, but still not a fan.
 
posted by [identity profile] tamerterra.livejournal.com at 12:21pm on 06/10/2011
I'm the same way with the lube - on and off of condoms - I'm constantly having to change brands and not use the old one until I'm not sensitised to it anymore. I never get those huge bottles of stuff anymore, because I know that we shan't get to the bottom of it before it starts hurting me. >_<
sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 02:38pm on 06/10/2011
Ah, I'm really not that bad, I just found some made me over-sensitive. I'm lucky that as I get older my bits just seem to work better :)
lightcastle: Lorelei Castle (Default)
posted by [personal profile] lightcastle at 03:22pm on 06/10/2011
I had (well, ostensibly I still do, but her behaviour makes me think I should assume its over) a lover who was allergic to latex. She hated condoms until she discovered polyurethane. I know a number of women who dislike them even without any allergy reasoning.

I think growing up in the height of the AIDS scare shaped my habits, and - of course - the fact people lie about their birth control and sexual habits all the time.
sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 03:24pm on 06/10/2011
I'm probably not as careful as I ought to be. The coil is a great relief, I must say.
lightcastle: Lorelei Castle (Default)
posted by [personal profile] lightcastle at 03:45pm on 11/10/2011
I am sure it is.
 
posted by [identity profile] tamerterra.livejournal.com at 12:19pm on 06/10/2011
I'm coming up to two years on mine - though I had one that didn't settle properly, and another one that I accidentally pulled out after a year because I was tired and got it caught when removing my mooncup. So I've had three insertions (only one of which was bad, and that was the first one where the doctor panicked when I asked for a breather to relax my muscles again where I'd tensed up and it hurt, and she thought I was panicking and wanted her to abort the procedure, and at the same time the nurse kept getting in my face - the other two were with a more relaxed doctor and it was over in five mins), and not really had to think about conraception for more than about a month in three years.

I use condoms as well around ovulation, because I know that it's possible for it to get pulled out, but it's more of a backup than a thing to panick and worry about, which is nice. I would never want to go back to my pre-IUD days of worrying about the condom slipping or breaking constantly all through the fun part.

I was on the pill for about three months - the family planning doctor (the same one that panicked at me during insertion) made it a condition of her inserting it, because she didn't trust a nineteen-year-old to abstain for two weeks or to use condoms properly. As it turned out, what with it falling out over the next month, backup BC was a good idea, but being on the pill fucked me up - mood swings, itchy skin, hayfever-type reactions to everything, my bust increasing by two cup-sizes to 'not carried in RL shops' size...

I don't have longer and heavier periods, I have shorter and heavier periods in which my blood pressure can drop quite low and put me on the floor for a few hours. I think that's at least partly a general illness thing, though the pain is definitely a thing that triggers it (I never used to have to take painkillers, but now I do for a couple of days if I want to be anything like functional).

I think that bodies tend to go along however they're used to, and then when something changes (suddenly-hormones, suddenly-not-hormones, suddenly-spiky-thing) they take a little bit to adjust and then just keep going in a new state. Sometimes that's better/less-painful, sometimes it's more, but I don't think it's all that easy to predict.
sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 02:41pm on 06/10/2011
Yeah, I can relate to a lot of this.

I had to be on the pill for a month I thin before my coil - even though I was one of the oldest and best-informed folk using the clinic, and as far as I can remember wasn't sexually active at the time, it's protocol to put you on the pill so you're absolutely definitely 100% not pregnant in the first place (then pregnancy test you twice anyway, heh). I can see why they need these protective procedures, not necessarily because they don't trust young women but so that things are less likely to go wrong and if they do nobody can say it was slackness on the clinic's part.

I think my periods are heavier again, but it feels much more like it did before all the pills fucked me around, which is nice. Like being a teenager again.

December

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31