sevenhelz: hand-drawn picture of a bluetit with its mouth open, "yell" written by the beak (Default)
Add MemoryShare This Entry
posted by [personal profile] sevenhelz at 08:03pm on 30/09/2008
Friday: We go for a night out at Camel, our first in many months. We meet a random couple, the female of which is rather cute and the male of which appears to be quite a loser, who has travelled up from Down South by coach. We decide they are socially inept, but I like the girl enough to give her my number when she asks. She turns out to be putting it into the male's phone as hers is in the coatroom (as is mine). We also annoy our housemate quite a lot. I do manage to bite my tongue when he demonstrates the difference between singing normally and singing nasally however; I laugh quite hard at the idea that I don't know what I'm listening to*, and he assumes that I'm just drunk.

Saturday: I'm rung in the morning to ask if I can do ten hours work instead of six. I decline on the grounds that I'm a little hungover, but later end up doing ten hours in return for my colleague covering my Thursday shift, since we have tickets to a gig that night. I am left to clean behind the bar instead of sweeping and mopping as I always have before. It's interesting, and I'm not fast at it. We shop after work, mostly for milk to finish the lovely lasagna D has been making. I am content.

Sunday: I have more work, only five and three quarter hours today... management is sneaky. I'm closing again, this time with Lauren who I have decided is a thickie. It turns out she may not be quite such a thickie, just very young and quite slow. Our assistant manager is much easier to deal with now I've told him I like him. Whether or not it is true, it is useful for him to know. I close down most of the bar again, and ask Lauren to do some washing up while I sweep and mop the last of the three floors. I suspect I would be faster at either of these jobs, but it saves me doing everything. I fall asleep early.

Monday: I practise euphonium and re-check my timetable before going to the first of my three classes. According to the timetable, it is meant to last an hour and a half, giving me thirty minutes for lunch. It lasts two hours due to our "study skills" needing improvement, apparently. We are to be taught how to read a book and access JStor, but our tutor spends more time on his topic than intended and quickly shows us how to use metalib properly. I approve, though I am still angry that I had no warning about the bi-monthly change of timetable, and annoyed that I forgot to bring my lunch. Dave has discovered this morning that he didn't get the job he was hoping for. I worry that he will be angry again, until the next good prospect. I attend my second class and meet a new student, after which I buy a sandwich which later makes me mildly ill and meet with the leader of the new local TA band, who explains what joining the band would entail. I suspect it is too great a commitment - it would clash with CN. My third class is Opera Class, during which I sing and our tutor misunderstands me when I say "you could've just said louder"; the very good tutor I used to have established this to mean with better breathing and more energy. Ah well. I meet D, we get home and have tea, and I rush back to get my euph and a lift to band. Lift falls through, I arrange another, band is fine. I get tipsy in the pub afterwards, and undoubtedly miss some jokes made at my expense, though I think they are minor this time. D is asleep when I get back and arrange the lesson times for Thursday.

Tuesday: I sleep in. Glyn Williams, who I was meant to be meeting, thinks he has a chest infection and is off to the doctor. I hope he gets well. I do a little musicology reading and listening, I tidy our rooms, I clean the sinks, I do two loads of washing and the rest of the shopping for the week. I go to Uni to practise, come back with Dave, make tea, wash up, do another load of washing, watch some Scrubs and come to the bedroom. I decide to keep a(n apparently quite boring) journal of my days so that I can keep track of how much housework there is. I have been quite angry all day at the amount of washing/cleaning there is to do, and that D did nothing (or rather, worked out instead of doing housework) last night despite the fact that most of the mess in the blue room is his, we have recently talked about doing the washing up in an evening instead of leaving it for the next day (when it invariably falls to me), and there was a lot of washing needed doing. Next I shall return to Uni work, by sorting out some notebooks. My back hurts.

*no, I have not written books on my subject - this does not mean I don't know it.


There are 11 comments on this entry. (Reply.)
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 08:36pm on 30/09/2008
You sing opera?

<3
 
posted by [identity profile] original-hell.livejournal.com at 08:43pm on 30/09/2008
:) not as well as professionals, but sure.
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 08:44pm on 30/09/2008
Do you have a favourite Aria?
 
posted by [identity profile] sevenhelz.livejournal.com at 08:52am on 01/10/2008
I don't have much of a repertoire, but I can sing Tamina's suicide song from The Magic Flute. x
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 11:00pm on 01/10/2008
That's a decent one, too.
 
posted by [identity profile] sevenhelz.livejournal.com at 08:53am on 01/10/2008
Actually I've been wondering if I can sing the Queen of the Night too. I probably could.
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 10:57pm on 01/10/2008
^__^

I love that Aria. It's the "Evil Soprano Test". You can cheat that high note and be fine, or you can go for it. Some go for it and miss; terribly. Others go for it and just sort of scratch their way to the note. And then there are those that just hit it and it is glorious.
 
posted by [identity profile] original-hell.livejournal.com at 07:44am on 02/10/2008
Yeah. It kinda pisses me off intensely how many "sopranos" at our uni can't sing below about an A "because it's too low, we're sopranos" but then can't sing above about a G because it's hard... Fuckers. You'd think they'd realise that there are enough crap singers in the world and aim to be Damn Good and also versatile, in order to, y'know, get work?
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 03:07pm on 02/10/2008
Well, are they actually aiming to become professional opera singers? I would also argue that there is a difference between performing and singing. For instance, I don't think Callas was the best singer around when she was at her peak, but she was a hell of a performer from what I've seen and heard.
 
posted by [identity profile] original-hell.livejournal.com at 03:27pm on 02/10/2008
I never bothered to ask. Their attitude was depressing to deal with - because they were older, you see, and they were first study singers, it didn't matter if they took whatever rehearsal was going on seriously or not, *we* should, because we could learn something from it, or we shouldn't disrupt them or something, because they were better than us.
One of the girls in my year has pretty much the same attitude and it's a shame, because she's got an okay voice. Her technique hasn't particularly got better since she's been here though. We need a decent technique teacher.
 
posted by [identity profile] lightcastle.livejournal.com at 06:56pm on 02/10/2008
Oh lovely.

Of course, I hear stories like this and think of my friend C_____ (aka - My Favourite Witch in the World) who first told me the joke, "What is the difference between a soprano and a piranha? --- Lipstick."

(Yes, it is now famous as Sarah Palin's "Hockey Mom and Pitbull" joke.)

December

SunMonTueWedThuFriSat
    1
 
2
 
3 4
 
5
 
6
 
7
 
8
 
9
 
10
 
11
 
12
 
13
 
14
 
15
 
16
 
17
 
18
 
19
 
20
 
21
 
22
 
23
 
24
 
25
 
26
 
27
 
28
 
29
 
30
 
31