posted by
sevenhelz at 06:23pm on 24/04/2009
So, I have decided I don't particularly like driving a Nissan Micra. Not because mine has a dodgy clutch, although it (now, after 2,000 miles driven) does; not because it's only a litre engine, making accelerating iiiinteresting; not because Dave only barely fits into it; no, I dislike it purely because PEOPLE KEEP PULLING OUT IN FRONT OF ME, AT HALF MY SPEED. Driving down to London last week (whew, that long ago?) I shit you not, no less than fifteen lorries did this. One of them was so close - and I had a car to my right - I had to pull into the left lane to slow down. sadly, with the car being only a litre and all, I then had to make a space to build up speed again before I could pass this asshole. He did wave a vague apology as I passed, and with me apparently finding near-death experiences hilarious* I just laughed. Still, by about the seventh lorry I was Not Best Pleased. I've definitely noticed this trend a lot. Interestingly, I don't get tailgated as much as I might have expected, but the number of times people pull out without bothering to check my speed... rage-inducing.
*same happened when my driving instructor had to turn the wheel and shout at me to Go, all those years ago.
*same happened when my driving instructor had to turn the wheel and shout at me to Go, all those years ago.