I know I've said at least part of this somewhere before, but it seems to need repeating.
An aside: There is no female equvalent to "guy". There is no female equivalent to "bloke". There is no male equivalent to "cow", or to "slut", or to various other slurs against women. It is worth considering why this might be, and rejecting the unspoken assumption - created by the language itself - that men as a group somehow behave better than woman as a group. All people are individuals, capable of both good and bad behaviour, and language is not an objective study of male or female behaviour trends.
Point 1: Women are not girls. Men are not boys.
Point 2: If, in a certain situation, you consistently refer to men as men, you should also consistently refer to women as women. Not girls.
Point 3: If you find yourself, in a certain situation, referring consistently to men and girls, youare probably male should probably consider your reasoning and adjust your actions accordingly.
Point 4: Some women may appreciate being made to feel young. This is because our society teaches women that their youth and sexuality are their only, or most, valuable traits. Hence these women believe their value is decreasing as they age. These women would not, I believe, be insulted by being accorded their full role as women.
Point 5: Young adult women often struggle to be taken seriously, especially in the world of work. As they already display the "valuable" trait of youth (and sexual desirability, according to our culture), young adult women are often not seeking to be made to feel young and sexually attractive. In fact, if young adult women are seeking to be taken seriously, they may find it demeaning to be designated as younger than they are. If you find yourself consistently referring to young women as girls, and young men in the same or a lower age bracket as men, you may want to consider your reasoning and adjust your actions accordingly.
That is all.
An aside: There is no female equvalent to "guy". There is no female equivalent to "bloke". There is no male equivalent to "cow", or to "slut", or to various other slurs against women. It is worth considering why this might be, and rejecting the unspoken assumption - created by the language itself - that men as a group somehow behave better than woman as a group. All people are individuals, capable of both good and bad behaviour, and language is not an objective study of male or female behaviour trends.
Point 1: Women are not girls. Men are not boys.
Point 2: If, in a certain situation, you consistently refer to men as men, you should also consistently refer to women as women. Not girls.
Point 3: If you find yourself, in a certain situation, referring consistently to men and girls, you
Point 4: Some women may appreciate being made to feel young. This is because our society teaches women that their youth and sexuality are their only, or most, valuable traits. Hence these women believe their value is decreasing as they age. These women would not, I believe, be insulted by being accorded their full role as women.
Point 5: Young adult women often struggle to be taken seriously, especially in the world of work. As they already display the "valuable" trait of youth (and sexual desirability, according to our culture), young adult women are often not seeking to be made to feel young and sexually attractive. In fact, if young adult women are seeking to be taken seriously, they may find it demeaning to be designated as younger than they are. If you find yourself consistently referring to young women as girls, and young men in the same or a lower age bracket as men, you may want to consider your reasoning and adjust your actions accordingly.
That is all.
can has cookie?
I got called out in my second year for referring to Newnham as a "girls' college". It hadn't occurred to me to think about it before then. These days I always notice when someone refers to me or another adult woman as a "girl". The sad thing is that above a certain age of male speaker you can't even successfully challenge them; I've tried, and however polite and well-meaning I try to be I've never even been understood, let alone listened to. There's a very dear family friend who refers to adult women as "girlies" and although it makes me wince, it's not a battle worth fighting.
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
i should really have guessed that pointy arrow bits would disappear. ahh, learning curves!
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
It'd be great if there was a casual single-syllable word for women that wasn't annoying to women, and I'm pretty sure I'd use it if there was. I very rarely use the word 'men' as it seems overly formal language, and therefore the same applies to using the word 'women' in casual conversation. I think I usually use 'guys' and 'girls', but it's a bit variable.
I do sometimes refer to men as boys, particularly if I'm talking about 'cute boys', i.e. ones I'm attracted to - it's not age (or perception of age) dependent (as far as I'm aware). I have for instance referred to J as a boy on many occasions.
can has cookie?
Guys and girls are not equivalent, no matter how much people use them. There's no age inherent in guy.
I actually started thinking about this when I was working in Caffe Nero - my coworker would shout "thanks for coming guys, see you later" which, well, sometimes they were groups of middle-aged women. So I amended it to "folks", which is also amusingly quaint.
Thanks for trying, anyway.
can has cookie?
Y'see, it'd never occurred to me that there could be anything odd or unusual about that. Seems like an affectionate term to be described by, to me :)
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
can has cookie?
x
can has cookie?